State News

Shannons Insurance Motorcycling Western Australia Awards Night 2017

Esplanade Hotel, Fremantle

  • 16 October 2017
  • Posted By: Linda
  • Number of views: 886
Shannons Insurance Motorcycling Western Australia Awards Night 2017
Held at the Esplanade Hotel, Fremantle the 2017 Shannons Insurance Night of Champions was a fitting finale to recognise Motorcycling Western Australia’s state champions across all disciplines.
Compared by 6PR personality Steve Mills, tribute was paid to our new Hall of Fame inductee’s Bob O’Leary and Neville Cutts, as well as recognising the many volunteers, coaches and officials that make the sport work.
A panel interview with international Junior MX superstar Kayden Minear, Road Race and Supermoto competitor Jessica Boujos, FIM accredited official Paul Hinds gave a rare insight into these individuals, their passions, and their journeys to success. 
Motorcycling WA’s CEO, Rick Gill, said of the night-"So much of our sport depends on our clubs and volunteers, this is an opportunity to acknowledge their work and to congratulate champions past and present".
The Director General of the Department of Local Government, Sport and Cultural Industries Mr Duncan Ord opened the evening and acknowledged the part motorcycle sport plays. Motorcycling WA's President, Peter Clark followed with a speech acknowledging all of the clubs, committee's, volunteers and officials for their devotion and time which have made this year a successful year for motorcycling in Western Australia. He also commended the commitment of MWA competitors and acknowledged that across the sport we have had national championship podium winners for most disciplines for 2017 as well as some competitors achieving success internationally.

A list of State Championship Award Winners can be found HERE

Aside from the State Championship Awards and Hall Of Fame inductees, the following awards were presented:

·        Female Rider Recognition Award-Gemma Merrylees

·        Outstanding Woman involved in the Sport-Maureen Davey

·        Sportsman’s Award for a senior competitor-Luke Gaisford

·        Patron’s Award for a junior competitor-Sponsored by Shannons Insurance-Kayden Minear

·        Lifetime Competition Award-Ron Tyers

·        Official of the Year – Paul Hinds

·        Volunteer of the Year – Justin Shepherd

·        Coach of the Year –Peter Hamer

·        Club of the Year – SuperMoto WA

·        Most Improved Club – Speedway Club of WA

Photos by Gordon Pettigrew from the night can be found HERE ,and we appreciate the work by Gordon in making these available.

We would also like to take this opportunity to sincerely thank our Night Of Champions-Hall of Fame Sponsors
Stay tuned for more information on our award winners through the course of the coming week.

Naming Rights Sponsor
Shannons Insurance 

Silver Sponsor
KTM & Husqvarna Motorcycles Australia

Event Sponsors 
Bunbury KTM/Suzuki
Joondalup Motorcycles/JMS Suspension 
South West Signs & Stickers
The Esplanade Hotel
Five Star Yamaha
Rifos Café
Australasian Dirt Bike Magazine
Midvale Yamaha


Documents to download

Categories: News, Womens News

Website Login

Copyright © 2015. Motorcycling WA Ltd.