State News

2018 Australian Speedway Sidecar Championships take over Oakburn Park Speedway

6 Teams from WA

  • 12 April 2018
  • Posted By: Linda
  • Number of views: 490
2018 Australian Speedway Sidecar Championships take over Oakburn Park Speedway
The 2018 Australian Senior and Junior Speedway Sidecar Championships are ready to roar this weekend, with Australia’s best Speedway Sidecar competitors battling it out at Oakburn Park Speedway, April 13-14. Reigning champions Trent Headland / Darryl Whetstone are back to defend their title against a star studded field.


Included in the star studded field is a large contingency of West Australian competitors that have made the long tedious trek across the Nullabor to follow their passion and endevour to make their dreams reality. 


Legendary veteran of the sport of speedway and Australian and West Australian champion many times over, Russell Mitchell, is one of them. Mitchell said earlier today, "With no spots allocated to any West Australians, this weekend’s Australian speedway sidecar title looks to be a tough ask for the sandgropers just to make it into the title."


"With a new format that sees everybody getting a chance through time trials to make half the spots available in the qualifying meeting. Then the top eight from this meeting get to race eight selected riders in the championship proper".


"Four Western Australian senior teams will be lighting up the track this weekend starting with the time trials. With only two laps practice given it will be interesting to see who can guess their bikes set up good enough to make qualifying".


The WA gladiators of our sport that are competing in this year's 2018 Australian Senior and Junior Speedway Sidecar Championships are: 



Jeff Bishop/Daniel Bishop

Reece Liptrott/Jess Thomas

Russell Mitchell/Andrew Sharp

Gary Selby/Brayden Wells


Jack Fewster/Adam Fewster

Keenan Murphy/Joshua McQuade

The talent packed Team WA will be out to chase down the defending champions Headland and Whetstone and the likes of 2018 FIM World Cup and FIM Oceania Championship winners Darrin Treloar/ Jesse Headland alongside Andrew Buchanan / Denny Cox and Warren Monson / Andrew Summerhayes.

A few familiar names will be back in the Junior field after a one-year hiatus from the Australian Speedway Sidecars Championship, with the likes of Jack Treloar, Adam Niesche and Nate Headland battling out to take home the Junior Australian Championship.

2017 defending champion Headland can’t wait to get out there and defend the title; “We are pumped Darryl and I are excited to defend the title, everything has been going well for us off the track and we have got our engine sorted for the Aussie titles, so we are ready for this weekend’s racing.

“It’s even better this year to have the Juniors running alongside us, the young guys look up to the senior riders and now for them to compete for the same championship at the same track is just ideal," finished Headland.

The 2018 Australian Speedway Sidecar Championship, will see a new race format this year with a time trial introduced for the seniors, ahead of a qualifying race prior to the main championship race.

Oakburn Park’s Paul Slade sharing; “In a first for the Australian Championship, a new initiative of time trial is being introduced. Paving the way for over 50 nominations, which is a record for Australian Speedway. Riders will be given three flying laps, to set their fastest time, with the top eight going through the qualifying race.”

To view the full selected rider list for the Australian Speedway Sidecar Championship, click here.

Keep up to date with all Australian Speedway Championship news by heading to the Australian Speedway Championship Website, or head over to Facebook for all your Speedway news. 


Good Luck Team WA-Bring home another Trophy this weekend!!!


Categories: News

Website Login

Copyright © 2015. Motorcycling WA Ltd.